A combo of two suggestions by: Heidi and by litlove

Have you ever been a member of a book club? How did your group choose (or, if you haven’t been, what do you think is the best way to choose) the next book and who would lead discussion?

Do you feel more or less likely to appreciate books if you are obliged to read them for book groups rather than choosing them of your own free will? Does knowing they are going to be read as part of a group affect the reading experience?

This is an interesting question for me as I have never been a member of book club and have always resisted the idea of reading to order. That has changed recently as I’ve become involved in some reading challenges which has satisfied the need to get involved with others in reading, but still leaves me the freedom of choice over what actually to read.

I’m not sure what the best way to choose books in a club would be – something random like pulling recommended titles out of a hat might be fun but I don’t know if it’s workable

What I have found with challenges is that I am more aware of thinking about what I’m going to say during the reading process, in comparison to my normal reading which really only takes shape after I’ve finished the book (not sure if I’ve explained that terribly well!)

Very interesting questions though…………..